How does America feel to you?

There is a song by Lee Greenwood called “God Bless the U.S.A”. Have you heard that song? It’s a feeling converted into melody. 
As a proud Venezuelan, I can tell you that after being in this country for about four and a half years, I now understand the love of americans for their country. 

It’s a country where you can have a good life depending of how much you work your ass off to make things happen (and as much as your bills let you reach them).

If you ask me, what is America to me? I can tell you this, US means a place where I have learned to believe in myself, where I feel I will conquer my dream (I will be a writer one day). America is where I can work on my goals without feeling that I’m just surviving. It’s where I feel safe, and respected as a woman.

 Some of you might know that my country is not in a good shape right now. We are ruled by barbarians who just want their own good, a government that has its hands full of blood for killing my brothers. I cannot describe you the pain I feel every night when I go to bed thinking about how and when this nightmare is going to end. 

I asked to my palestinian friend the same question, “What is America to you?” and his answer was: “America it’s a place where you are welcome with a smile on their faces and not with a gun pointed on your head. America is for us a dream while other people enjoy the privilege to live”. 

Now, check any bill that’s in your wallet, read it carefully, what do you see? It says “In God we trust”. Not everything is “sunshines and rainbows” in my life right now, but when I feel like I want to quit, I remember that God is in control of my life, not me. And so far, America has encouraged me to pursuit my dreams and make me a better human despite the adversities I have found. 

Happy 241 years of Independence America.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. barbshelton says:

    What refreshing and wonderful thoughts you have shared herein!!! You have an excellent attitude that is full of appreciation, not demanding that you be catered to. You recognize that it takes hard work to fulfill your dreams! Thank you so much for sharing this thoughtful piece! The only thing I disagree with is that you will be a writer one day; you already ARE, girl!!!!!! 😘

    1. bellafilippi says:

      Awww ❤️thank you so much for your words. Makes me feel more courageous.

  2. Sara says:

    Thank you for sharing! It is so encouraging to hear this perspective! We have a long way to go still, I think, but I definitely feel blessed to live in the USA.

    1. bellafilippi says:

      Amen Sara 🙂 thank you so much for your comment.

  3. Valerie says:

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. While we are certainly privileged in the US, we definitely have our own work to do. Every country is a work in progress, I hope that we can continue to be as welcoming and full of possibility as you and your friend feel we are!

    1. bellafilippi says:

      Thanks Valerie 🙂

  4. Yulissa says:

    I truly enjoyed reading this! I am glad you feel that way. I believe as well that US is a place where dreams come true. I have seen friends and family prosper is that land. But most important of all is that God guide us to where he want us to be. Here we have the opportunity to share freely our talents with others.

    1. bellafilippi says:

      Amén!! Thank you for your words Yulissa.

Leave a Reply

