A place call Charleston, IL

13016836_10154740792972908_273810357_o

I should start this lines telling you I have a lot of “brothers from another mother”. Being away from home allowed me to met the most genuinely human beings.

This is my story. I went to visit my brother Kahled (he is the greatest) in a place call Charleston (3 hours away from Chicago).

Was a friday afternoon, I wasn’t sure if I should go or not. Around 4pm I decided.I packed   a few things and hit the road. GSP was saying I was 4 hours away from there…SO FAR. But fucked it, it was my adventure.

If you are from Chicago, you know about this, getting out from the city took me one hour. When the highway started to get clear, the road became marvelous. 

Wide open fields with a sunset that can melt any heart. I don’t know WHY I didn’t take a picture, was terrific. The color of the sky was a mixed between orange, red, and pink, something magical.

While I was driving, I started to think, I was feeling free. I always wanted to do a road trip by myself. I spend my time singing country songs, I thought about how much I’m missing my family, and of course, I started to think about him… I’m tired of feeling like a gypsy.

 9:05pm, touchdown.

 I got to my brother’s house. We spend the night talking and watching movies. 

Another brother, Salem, came. I was so happy to see him, we used to be roommates. He brought us dessert, Basbousa (extremely good), and the chit chat got lit.

The next day I woke up at 11am, I took a shower and ready to explore. The boys cooked breakfast, scrambled egg with bread, and of course, coffee. 

The best part? I enjoyed drinking my coffee in a view worthy of a frame. The front yard felt so peaceful, a panoramic view of the woods.

The day started so, we roll. We drove around town, a very small town with wide streets, and victorian style houses. The main building of the EIU looks like a castle. The downtown was something you can walk in no more than 10min, I saw a couple of coffee shops and some restaurants. I was impressed with the fact that it was 1pm and the streets were empty… Am I in a ghost town?

Then… Charleston Lake. Looks like a water reserve, swimming it’s not allowed, and a few residents were fishing. Such a pleasant place… how can we feel so overwhelmed with our daily lives and forgot to breath?

On our way back, he took a different road, this one was busy with farms, and fields with horses (a lot of horses, no cows… weird right?).

To continue with this amazing day, we went fishing. He called his friends, and we made a group of 12. I had never fish in my life, was fun, but we didn’t catch anything. The boys planned a bbq for dinner… we ended up eating at 1.30am. I felt so jealous because this dudes know how to cook delicious food, and I’m still a baby in diapers with my kitchen skills.

On my last day, breakfast together, And a  few hours later, I was driving home.

Now, what did I learn on this trip? I must enjoy this kind of experiences, that’s why God is putting me on this direction. He has a plan for me, I just need to be patience. I have good friends, they are my family.

I know life give us ups and downs but we need to slow down and think, make decisions, make mistakes, because at the end we must do whatever makes us happy.

 

Leave a Reply

